January 17, 2015

It is quiet. Peaceful. A Waldeck playlist is the soundtrack for this day.

The solitude I am experiencing right now feels like a garden in which I can channel creativity. This is my favorite time of the day.  There is a woman outside who practices her Tai Chi around this time each Saturday.  She rearranges energy in such a gentle, graceful manner filled with power beyond measure. The contrast between her peace and the traffic on the overpasses in the distance behind her, show me a story of machines that force energy versus a single human being flowing with energy. Who is more powerful?

My hummingbird friend didn’t visit me today since the landscapers trimmed the flowers on the bush outside my window. I look forward to see that little hummingbird return once the buds begin to bloom again.

There is a busy day ahead. I have the task of saving merchants money on their merchant services. I enjoy my work. I enjoy helping business owners save money. That is my service to the community.

And now for my bliss! Fashion! My client’s fittings were successful. Considering that this was the first time I ever graded a pattern, it is a milestone in my fashion journey. The prospect of taking on the challenge to enlarge a baby pattern to an adult size seemed reasonable to me since I would increase my skill set. Mission accomplished.

Can I make an adult size pattern from a baby pattern?
Can I make an adult size pattern from a baby pattern?
Making progress.
Making progress.

I cut it large so I could adjust it. It’s better to have too much than too little, right?  Thanks to my friend and fashion designer, Tri Coleman, for the education about the term ‘grading’ . At this stage of my journey, I act on instinct, but with the training, I’ll be able to define and articulate what I’m doing.  Speaking of training, FIDM in California might be my destination for fashion training. To be continued….

My fashion journey seems to be taking shape and lean toward menswear. What a joy since I appreciate menswear and the fine art of dressing a man. My client enjoyed the mood board I created for him. Take a look at it here. Samuel’s Mood Board

This week, Project Runway All Stars challenged the designers to come up with an avant-garde look inspired by marine life. Avant-garde challenges are difficult. I liked this because you really have to push yourself to conceptualize the abstract. These were photo inspirations that caught my eye.

Avant-garde challenge inspired by Marine Life
Avant-garde challenge inspired by Marine Life

images-2 images

And here is my sketch.

avant garde challenge sketch

More avant-garde options
More avant-garde options

Believe it or not, I’m still contemplating this challenge. I think I can dig deeper…

Well, until next time, I hope you enjoy your fashion journey. Cheers!

Leave a comment